Can I change My Virtual Private Server (VPS)/Virtual Dedicated Server (VDS) plan?

Can I Change My VPS/VDS Plan?

It is possible to change an existing VPS/VDS plan but the processes for upgrading and downgrading your plan are different. 


Below you'll find how to change your VPS/VDS plan depending on what type of change you would like to make.


Can I upgrade my VPS/VDS plan?

Upgrading your VPS/VDS plan be done via the Customer Panel, there are two ways to handle a VPS/VDS upgrade depending on whether you want to keep the data on your server or not. 


Below is a description of both methods:


Fresh setup (Installation):
The fresh setup (installation) method deletes all data on your current instance and creates a new instance with a new IP address in a region of your choice.


This method is free of charge.


Live Migration:
With the live migration method, we will migrate your server, including all server data, to the region of your choice.

Your server will remain online during the data transfer. The duration of a migration depends on the amount of data to be transferred and some other technical conditions, so it is not possible to give an exact estimate for this process.

Once the data transfer is completed, the server must be restarted and reconfigured. During this downtime, Contabo will reconfigure the main IP address of the server. This process will cause a period of downtime, it is not possible to give an exact timeframe for how long the downtime will be.


There is a service charge for this method which will be shown to you when you upgrade your VPS in the Customer Control Panel.


How do I upgrade my VPS plan?

  1. Log in to the Customer Control Panel.
  2. Click the three dots (More) section on the right hand side of the page.
  3. Click Upgrade under Scale
  4. Select your new model. You can see the specifications for the different VPS/VDS offerings and their prices. Once you have decided which VPS/VDS you would like to upgrade to click the button on the left hand side next to the VPS you would like to upgrade to.
  5. You can also select optional storage extension if you would like extra storage. If not leave it unchecked.
  6. Choose either the Live Migration or Fresh Setup depending on how you would like to handle the upgrade. There is more information about these two methods above.
  7. Review your order and ensure to check the Terms & Conditions before proceeding.
  8.  Once you're ready to order, click Order & Pay.

You will then be updated on the progress of the upgrade by the customer support team.


Can I downgrade my VPS/VDS plan?

If you want to downgrade your plan then you’ll need to buy the smaller plan through the Customer Control Panel. Once you downgrade, it is recommended to transfer all the data from your current VPS/VDS to the new downgraded one, and then mark the old VPS/VDS for cancellation. 


You can order a new VPS/VDS by clicking Create and selecting the VPS/VDS at the top of the Customer Panel.



Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select at least one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article

Can't find what you're looking for?