Can I Change My Virtual Private Server (VPS) Plan?

Can I Change My Virtual Private Server Plan?

It is possible to change an existing Virtual Private Server (VPS) plan but the process for upgrading and downgrading your plan are different. 


Below you'll find how to change your VPS plan depending on what type of change you would like to make.


Can I upgrade my VPS plan?

Upgrading your VPS plan be done via the Customer Control Panel, there are two ways you can handle a VPS upgrade which are described below:


New Deployment (Installation):
Using the new deployment (installation) method all data of your current instance will be deleted and a new instance with a new IP address will be created in a desired Region. This method is free of charge.


Live Migration:
In this case, Contabo will migrate your server including all server data to the desired Region. Your server will stay online during the data transfer. The duration of a Migration depends on the amount of data which needs to be transferred and some other technical conditions. It is not possible to give an exact estimation for this process.


After the completion of data transfer the server needs to be rebooted and reconfigured. During that downtime Contabo will reconfigure the main IP address of the server. This process will cause a downtime period, it is not possible to give an exact timeframe for how long the downtime will be.


How do I upgrade my VPS plan?

  1. Log in to the Customer Control Panel.
  2. Click "Your services" from the blue "control panel" section on the left hand side of the page.
  3. Scroll down the page and find your VPS. If your VPS is eligible for upgrade there should be a yellow "Upgrade now" button next to it. Click the "Upgrade now" button.
  4. A pop up window should appear. You can see the specifications for the different VPS offerings and their prices. Once you have decided which VPS you would like to upgrade to click the button on the left hand side next to the VPS you would like to upgrade to.
  5. You can also check the "I also wish to order the Storage Extension." box if you would like extra storage. If not leave it unchecked.
  6. Check either the "Live Migration" or "New Deployment" box depending on how you would like to handle the upgrade. There is more information about these two methods above.
  7. If you have any special requests for the upgrade click the "Add Special Request" link. A textbox will open where you can write any additional instructions you may have. If you don't have any special requests you can leave this textbox empty.
  8. Check the box "I agree to pay the new fee indicated above according to General Terms and Conditions."
  9. Review all the options you've selected. Once you're happy with them click the "Request Upgrade" button.

You will then be updated on the progress of the upgrade by the customer support team.


Can I downgrade my VPS plan?

If you want to downgrade your plan then you’ll need to buy the smaller plan through the Customer Control Panel. Once you downgrade, it is recommended to transfer all the data from your current VPS to the new downgraded one, and then mark the old VPS for cancellation. 


You can order a new VPS by clicking "VPS" in the orange "New Order" section at the bottom of the Customer Control Panel.



Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article

Modified on 02 Apr 2024

Can’t find what you’re looking for?

Get in Touch

Do you have a pre-sales question?